Akagami no Shirayukihime Chapters 1-4 [Natural Log]

She’s not your average fairy tale, love at first sight, princess. This Snow White has a mind of her own and isn’t the kind to be controlled by some prince.

One boring summer afternoon, I was browsing the drop down list of random manga on a popular manga viewing website. It wasn’t long before I stumbled upon Akagami no Shirayukihime. I don’t know about you, but like most people, I read the summary first before deciding if it’s worth reading. The summary was a little vague and confusing, and there were only 4 listed chapters (I thought they would be around 20 pages per chapter), so I figured, what the heck, I’ll read it. It’s actually 40 pages per chapter.

To be frank, around the 20th page of the 4th chapter, I found myself wishing that there were more. The summary was a TOTAL understatement of the series. (But then again, what summaries aren’t?)

The literal translation of Akagami no Shirayukihime, for those of you who are too lazy to look it up, is Red-Haired Snow White Princess. And red-haired she is, except the manga is in black and white and various shades of gray, so you wouldn’t know if not for the fact that they tell you. Anyhow, the infamously stupid Prince Raji of some miscellaneous kingdom (I’m sure it has a name, but I’m too lazy to look it up and…frankly, it’s not important), asks his informer if he has any news of a girl with beauty enough to captivate everyone in his country. To be his new concubine, which kind of makes me wonder how many he has… If you don’t know a concubine is, don’t ask me. Ask your parents. The informer tells Prince Raji of a girl with extremely rare apple-red hair.

Shirayuki is shocked to find that the Prince wants her to be his new concubine simply because of her hair color, and when her arguments go unheard, resolves to write her own story. She cuts off her long hair and leaves it for the Prince, so he can stare at that all day instead of making her a concubine. (WAHAHA GENIUS! :D) After this, she runs off into the forest somewhere, and decides to rest outside a random vacant house. Morning arrives, and she wakes up to find a guy leaping over the wall she was leaning on. He notices her, and consequently catches his foot on the wall, falls, and hurts his wrist, even though it looks like he hit his head. His 2 companions rush to his aid.

YOU KILLED HIM!

YOU KILLED HIM!

Shirayuki offers to help him, as she is a pharmacist (herbalist), and proves she means well by intentionally hurting herself. The dude then allows her to take care of his wound. The guy, Zen, his friends, Kiki and Mitsuhide, and Shirayuki stay for a couple days in the vacant house, and become friends. A messenger comes for Shirayuki, Zen eats a poisoned apple, Shirayuki goes with them to get an the antidote, Zen comes to save her, turns out to be the 2nd prince of the Clarines Kingdom, threaten to publically humiliate Prince Raji, takes Shirayuki back to Clarines, yadda yadda yadda.

You really killed him!

What makes this manga special is not the drawing style (despite its awesomeness), it’s its originality.

Although ranked under the category ‘Romance,’ Shirayuki and Zen share a platonic, friendship type love. This element is rarely seen in modern day manga, and eliminates the need for “Oh my gosh, just kiss and confess your love to her” moments, which I personally find very annoying and cliche. Instead of being the “helpless damsel in distress, let me in the palace and marry me even though I’m a peasant and you’re a prince” type character, Shirayuki strives to become a palace herbalist and earn the right to stay by Zen’s side. Yay for headstrong women. 🙂

Zen isn’t your average “I’m a prince so you do what I tell you to do and I get whatever I want” character either. Conversely, he realizes that it’s stupid to think that way, and likes escaping the palace with his two guard–accomplices to get to know his subjects better; being cooped up tells you nothing about the country’s people.

Overall, I’ve covered about 1 of the 4 chapters that have been released, since I want you to go read it yourself. It’s so awesomely adorable, and is easily one of the best shoujo manga I’ve read. 10/10 (Unless the mangaka suddenly decides to turn this into smut, which I highly doubt. But if they do, I’ll go berserk and cry over the failure of such potential :()

And for the record, Kiki is a girl. Because the Clarines Kingdom is awesome and lets girls become knight-bodyguards too. 😀

LN over and out.
Click if you think I'm cute! Click if you think I'm cute! Click if you think I'm cute!

3 Responses to “Akagami no Shirayukihime Chapters 1-4 [Natural Log]”


  1. 1 nica December 10, 2009 at 6:15 am

    i liked your summary there….yes…you are very right the art is really amazing….its a very unique story….i was so ‘aaahhh!!!!’ when i saw the kiss in chapter 13…..

  2. 2 Keely September 28, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I loved this manga so much! Unfortunately, I was only able to read the first two chapters before onemanga.com deleted all of their manga. If you know of any sites that may have Akagami no Shirayukihime, please tell me! 🙂


Leave a Reply

